Is Cappuccino Gluten Free – Know if Cappuccino is Safe for People with Celiac Disease

Do you want to follow a gluten-free diet?

Some people become voluntarily gluten-free while some choose a gluten-free diet due to some medical condition associated with the gluten.

However, you must be wondering whether your daily dose of cappuccino coffee is free from gluten or not.

For people who are unaware, gluten is a type of protein which is found in grains like wheat, rye, and barley, triticale, etc.

In addition to helping in managing symptoms of auto-immune diseases such as celiac disease, going gluten-free has other health benefits as well.

Gluten free diet provides you a better gut health, natural weight loss, and improved energy levels.

If you are someone who loves cappuccinos but are wondering if your favourite cup of cappuccino contains gluten, then here is my answer.

No, your favorite cup of cappuccino does not contain gluten and it is actually a gluten free drink.

Cappuccinos are generally made of milk and espresso.

Both of these ingredients don’t contain gluten at all.

However, some brands make their cappuccinos with wheat flour as one of their ingredients, and that contains gluten.

Hence, you must check the ingredient list of the cappuccino that you are buying to ensure that it doesn’t have gluten in it.

It is also possible that your coffee doesn’t contain gluten, but the coffee creamer or a sweetener that you are using does contain gluten to some extent.

Your coffee beans might also get cross-contaminated due to being processed in the same facility as other items containing gluten.

In case that happens, and you start experiencing adverse symptoms, then you need to determine what’s causing the same problem.

And after that you need to stop using those types of coffee beans to prepare your cappuccino.

In this article ahead, I will explain in more detail about different types of popular cappuccino brands and whether they contain gluten or not.

Table of Contents

Is French Vanilla Cappuccino Coffee Gluten-free?

The answer is Yes. Most of the French Vanilla Cappuccino brands are gluten free.

French Vanilla Cappuccino is made with milk, a single or double shot of espresso, and vanilla-flavoured syrup foam.

Most of the brands that manufacture French Vanilla Cappuccino coffee are gluten-free.

But in reality, some brands are not completely gluten free.

This could be due to the use of flavoured syrup in the coffee.

It might contain ingredients like thickening agents which usually contain some gluten.

That’s why you should check the label of the coffee mix that you are buying to ensure it is 100% gluten-free.

Is Nescafe Cappuccino Gluten free?

The answer is Yes. Most Cappuccino made by Nescafe do not contain gluten at all.

E.g. Nescafe Gold Cappuccino ingredients comprise of sugar, milk solids, glucose syrup, soy, salt, cinnamon, vegetable oils, cocoa, stabiliser, and vanilla flavouring agent.

According to the Nestle UK site which is the parent company of Nescafe, Nescafe Gold Cappuccino do not contain any amount of gluten.

They also mention that it may contain gluten in really small quantities which makes it okay to be a part of your gluten-free diet.

Is Starbucks Cappuccino Gluten Free?

My answer is Yes and No.

Most Starbucks Cappuccino coffees are gluten free.

However, I can’t say with 100% surety that all types of Starbucks Cappuccino are entirely gluten free.

Some may contain certain percentage of gluten due to exposure to the oat milk in Starbucks cafes.

Starbucks has always advertised itself as a brand that considers the food habits of the majority of its customers.

This also includes the people who are following strict dairy free and gluten-free diet.

In fact, in the past the company had also launched a popular breakfast sandwich that was gluten-free.

However, it was discontinued in 2018 and consequently received a lot of backlash for it.

While Starbucks cappuccino is gluten-free, there is always a risk of cross-contamination from gluten-containing ingredients such as oat milk.

Hence, Starbucks can’t 100 percent guarantee you that the cappuccino which is being served to you doesn’t contain gluten at all.

Also, the steam wands in the Starbucks cafes are used by the baristas to steam all types of milk.

Hence, there is a strong possibility that you might not be getting a gluten-free cappuccino.

Since I am not 100% positive if Starbucks cappuccino is completely gluten-free.

I can recommend you to stick with an Americano, or espresso while drinking coffee at Starbucks.

Is McDonald’s Cappuccino Gluten Free?

Yes, in most cases McDonald’s cappuccino is gluten free.

But in certain cases, due to cross contamination, it can happen that certain gluten content can get mixed up in the coffee.

McDonald’s cappuccino comes in different flavours such as caramel cappuccino, French vanilla cappuccino, and normal cappuccino.

A normal McDonald’s cappuccino should be gluten-free as it contains only milk, sugar and espresso.

And all these three ingredients are gluten-free.

However, in busy fast-food restaurants, there is always a chance of cross-contamination.

McDonald’s does not label its cappuccino as gluten-free on its website.

But none of the ingredients of the drink contains gluten either.

However, the site does mention that due to normal cooking and preparation areas, it might be possible that cross-contamination of gluten-free and gluten-containing products might happen.

Hence, Mcdonald’s cappuccino is essentially gluten-free, but there is always a risk that it isn’t.

Is Costa Cappuccino Gluten Free?

Yes, Costa cappuccino is essentially gluten-free.

Just make sure that you do not ask for almond milk for your cappuccino as that certainly contains gluten.

However, just like Starbucks and Mcdonald’s, baristas in Costa also use shared equipment.

This increases the chances of cross-contamination with gluten-containing ingredients significantly.

So, you need to make sure that you are not getting Costa cappuccino with cross contamination.

Recommended Articles for You:

Know if Your Daily Cappuccino Contains Sugar

Know How Much Caffeine is Contained in a Gas Station Cappuccino

Discover How Much Milk You Should Add in an Instant Coffee

Can Celiacs Drink Cappuccino?

Yes, celiacs can drink cappuccino as none of its ingredients contains gluten.

However, they need to make sure there is no cross-contamination of the coffee with any gluten-containing ingredients.

The best choice in this case for them would be to make their cappuccino at home, or go to a gluten-free café that caters to their needs perfectly.

Which Coffees are Gluten-free?

Almost all coffees are gluten-free.

Because, usually all coffees are made from the only ingredients such as sugar and milk.

Usually, no cross-contamination happens during coffee preparation if you take proper care.

Coffees with additives like flavouring agents may not be gluten-free.

It is highly recommended to check the label before buying the same.

Some of the coffee options that are definitely gluten-free if prepared correctly and they are as follows.

1. Instant coffee

2. Cappuccino

3. Americano

4. Frappuccino

5. Decaf coffee

All these 5 types of coffee categories do not contain any kind of gluten content and they are the safest options for gluten intolerant folks.

References:

https://cappuccinoed.com/are-cappuccinos-gluten-free/

https://www.yahoo.com/lifestyle/coffee-gluten-free-complicated-130700085.html

https://www.nescafe.com/au/faq

https://www.verywellfit.com/which-starbucks-products-are-gluten-free-562718

https://www.mcdonalds.com/us/en-us/product/cappuccino-small.html#accordion-c921f9207b-item-842cb18782

https://www.costa.co.uk/menu/

https://www.glutenfreesociety.org/is-coffee-safe-on-a-gluten-free-diet/

https://unocasa.com/blogs/tips/is-coffee-gluten-free

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top